hood_animals.jpg

MONDAY | TUESDAY | WEDNESDAY | THURSDAY | FRIDAY

Endangered Animals


Opening Activity:

Blog a Bit - Share your ideas on Monday and Tuesday activities.


Camp Fire : GADGET Campfire Endangered Animals Day

Questions of the Day: What does it mean for an animal to become endangered? Protected? Extinct? How would this change our world?

Advocacy and Informational Videos:

Endangered Animals Video

  • Students will work together to research an endangered animal and create a poster and PSA video about saving that animal.
  • Students will work together to brainstorm questions for our guest speakers.

Activity One: Researching Endangered Animals

Research Links:
=----
=

Activity Two: Brainstorm

Brainstorm questions for the guest speaker.
What would we like to know about endangered animals of the world? NC?


Activity Three: Introduction of Guest Speaker

Diane Hendry, Outreach Coordinator
US Fish and Wildlife Service
Red Wolf Recovery Program
Alligator River National Wildlife Refuge
Manteo, NC



Activity Four: Introduction of Guest Speaker

Carol Price
Wildlife Action Plan Coordinator
NC Wildlife Resources Commission
Raleigh, NC


Games and Fun Links:

Switcheroo Zoo - http://www.switcheroozoo.com/zoo.htm (don't forget to name your animal and tell 3-5 facts about it, then you can print it)
You Wild - http://www.youwild.org/(morph your picture into an animal)
Endangered TV videos - http://endangeredtv.com/
Wild Games - http://www.kidsplanet.org/games/


Adopt an animal - http://www.defenders.org/wildlife_and_habitat/wildlife/whale.php
Endangered Species Act - http://www.kidsplanet.org/factsheets/map.htmlWeb of Life - read the story - http://www.kidsplanet.org/wol/index.html
Wildlife Adoption Center - www.wildlifeadoption.org
Kid Defenders - http://www.kidsplanet.org/coolstuff/kids_activity_book_2007.pdf
Endangered Species for Kids - http://research.calacademy.org/research/library/biodiv/biblio/endangerjuv.htm
Endangered Specie - http://www.endangeredspecie.com/kids.htm
Kids Konnect - http://www.kidskonnect.com/content/view/29/27/
Kid Info - http://www.kidinfo.com/Science/Endangered_animals.html
Yahoo Endangered Animals - http://kids.yahoo.com/directory/Science-and-Nature/Living-Things/Animals/Endangered-Species
Great Barrier Reef Animals - http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/content/animals/kidscorner/endangered_animals/endangeredanimals_2.htm